About Me


Ever wonder who actually lives in Fy Nyth and writes this blog? Well hello! I'm Ariel. If you are new here and to Fy Nyth (Welsh for "My Nest") in general, welcome! I and my lovely companion Burley, an English Shepherd, live off grid (as in no physical connection to public utilities) in a tiny house on wheels in the mountains of northern Wyoming. I've been living in my tiny house here since 2014.

 What will you find if you follow Fy Nyth? Real life here. I try to show the good and the bad. The ups and the downs. What works, and what doesn't. The parts I love (most of it!), and the things that suck. Not just the showroom version of a tiny house, but everyday life in a tiny house. Not just the romantic idea of "homesteading" or off grid life, but the everyday details of this lifestyle. I split my own wood for heat, carry my water by hand, and attempt to grow as much of my own food as I can between the weather and wildlife here.

I don't make a ton of money, I don't have a huge house or lots of stuff. Do I feel deprived? Not one little bit. Does this life work for everyone? I doubt it. But for me, I love it. I get to do what I want and spend time with who I want. What else can you do with a degree and a high paying job? Maybe you do need those if you want to do different things. But my life works very well for what I want to do.

 I hope to help others learn from my mistakes and make life just a little easier for anyone else interested in pursuing a similar lifestyle. I live in a somewhat harsh and cold climate, but enjoy the stunning sceanery and wildlife that I am surrounded by on a daily basis. You'll also see videos and photos of the nature and wildlife around my home. If you are interested in my photography or purchasing a photo, I'd love if you follow that over at ArielCelestePhotography.zenfolio.com!

 For a bit of my background, as a child, I was fortunate enough to be able to spend much of my free time exploring and playing in the woods. Little has changed now that I'm older I suppose. I moved to a place with a bigger woods and still enjoy spending my time outside gardening, hiking, exploring, and photographing the natural world around me. As the eldest of seven children who grew up in a homeschooling family, I had the opportunity, not always appreciated at the time, to learn to do quite a bit of work. I've enjoyed a wide range of jobs, everything from greenhouses and flower arranging to wilderness therapy with teens, to milking cows.

 Mostly, I enjoy doing the kinds of things that I think provide a real service or value to others. Some of my other hobbies include backpacking, hosting people, cooking, preserving food, anything to do with nutrition, reading, journalling, and sitting around a fire and talking to my close friends. Thanks for checking out everything around here and I hope you enjoy or learn something new!